REGULATIONS FOR SPECIFIC PRODUCTS

SELLING FRESH FRUITS AND VEGETABLES

Fresh fruits and vegetables are the most common
direct marketed products, whether sold at farmers
markets, through CSAs, or direct to restaurants

and local grocery stores. Expectations for high

quality and increasing attention on the food safety

of fresh produce mean there are regulations for
produce farmers to be aware of. The Food Safety
Modernization Act establishes new regulations for
produce growers. Quality inspection requirements
apply to certain Washington State fruit and vegetables.

This fact sheet includes information on:

« The Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA)
Produce Safety Rule.

« Inspection requirements and exemptions for
certain fruits and vegetables.

« Standards for grades and packs.

« Other licenses for selling produce.
« Sampling requirements.

« Voluntary certifications for produce.

The Food 5afety Modernization Act (FSMA)

Produce 5afety Rule

The FSMA Produce Safety Rule establishes, for the first
time, regulatory requirements for on-farm food safety
practices for produce farms. FSMA updated federal
food safety laws for the first time in nearly 73 years.
FSMA contains multiple rules that apply to different
sectors of the food system, including the Produce
Safety Rule. The rule intends to reduce food safety
risks in fresh produce resulting from contamination
by pathogens. It focuses on hygiene, water quality,
soil amendments, animals, and limiting cross-
contamination through surfaces on the farm.

Farms with annual produce sales over $25,000 that
grow, harvest, pack, or hold produce are covered by
the rule.

There are some exemptions to significant parts of
the rule for farms that primarily direct market their
products, and fall below specific thresholds for both
sales of produce and overall farm sales revenue.
For farms that do not qualify for those exemptions,
inspections from the WSDA Produce Safety Program

HANDBOOK for SMALL AND DIRECT MARKETING FARMS 2019

4

will be required. For fuller details on the Produce
Safety Rule requirements and exemptions, please
see the “FAQ on the Food Safety Modernization Act
(FSMA)" fact sheet.

Under the Produce Safety Rule,
farms growing produce must
prominently display the farm name
and address at the point of sale or
on packaging labels, for example on
a sign at a farm stand or on an invoice.

To demonstrate that they qualify for any
exemptions, all produce farms must keep
sales records, and make them available
upon request.

In Washington, the WSDA Produce Safety Program

is responsible for implementing the FSMA Produce
Safely Rule, including conducting inspections and
helping farms understand, prepare for, and comply
with the Produce Safety Rule, including through
voluntary On Farm Readiness Reviews (OFRR).
Contact them directly at producesafety@agr.wa.gov,
360-902-1848, or on the Produce Safety webpages at
agr.wa.gov.

Inspection Requirements and Exemptions for

Certain Fruits and Vegetables

To assure standard quality, certain “signature”
Washington State fresh fruits and crops that are sold
in high volumes require inspection from the WSDA
Fruit and Vegetable Inspection Program (Chapter 16-
461 WAQC). Traditionally, the crops requiring inspection
by WSDA prior to sale include fresh apples, apricots,
asparagus, hazelnuts, ltalian prunes, peaches, pears,
potatoes, or sweet and tart cherries, potatoes, and
Walla Walla onions.

The particular crops included in this requirement can
change year-to-year, depending on federal marketing
orders and state requirements issued by various fruit
and vegetable commissions. Inspection is available for
other fruit and vegetable crops to assure quality, but it
is not required.


https://agr.wa.gov/departments/food-safety/produce-safety/produce-safety-rule
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For details and the current list of crops with required
inspections in any given year, contact the WSDA

Fruit and Vegetable Inspection Program offices in
Wenatchee, 509-662-6161, or Yakima, 509-24.6900,
or visit agr.wa.gov.

There are exemptions to inspection requirements for
direct marketing farmers making smaller volume sales.

Selling direct to the end consumer

Inspection of fresh apples, apricots, asparagus, Italian
prunes, peaches, pears, and potatoes is not required if
both of the following are true:

1. The Total Pounds Sold per Crop is Below the
Daily Limit of 2,000 pounds per day maximum of
each type of fresh fruit or vegetable, OR less than
6,000 pounds per day total of any combination
of fresh apricots, asparagus, Italian prunes,
peaches, apples, pears, potatoes.

2. The Sales Are Made at a Farmers Market
anywhere in Washington State by a grower
selling their own fresh fruits and vegetables, or
sales are made at a fruit and vegetable stand
(roadside stand, trucks, and temporary, non-fixed
retail, open-air stands) within the same “zone of
production.”

Washington State is divided into two zones of
production.

Zone 1 All counties west of the Cascade
Mountains
Zone 2 All counties east of the Cascade

Mountains plus Skamania County, Adams,
Asotin, Benton, Chelan, Columbia,
Douglas, Ferry, Franklin, Garfield, Grant,
Kittitas, Klickitat, Lincoln, Okanogan, Pend
Oreille, Skamania, Spokane, Stevens,
Walla Walla, Whitman, and Yakima

For example, an orchardist in Grant County can sell
their apples at a fruit stand anywhere in Eastern
Washington and at a farmers market anywhere in the
state without inspection.

Sweet cherries have different rules.
Cherries that are not inspected

may only be sold to the customer

for home use (not resale) and in

a total daily quantity under 100 pounds.
Containers must be marked “not for
resale” in letters that are at least one-half-
inch tall. Fresh cherries that are infested
with live Western cherry fruit fly larvae
may not be shipped or sold.

Containers of apricots, Italian prunes and sweet
cherries sold to consumers must be marked “not for
resale” Sales of fresh fruits and vegetables that are
exempted from inspections are still required to meet
grade standards.

Selling for resale

Growers selling fresh apricots, asparagus, ltalian
prunes, peaches, apples, pears, or potatoes for resale
(e.g., to grocery stores, co-ops, distributors) must have
their product inspected, regardless of the volume sold.
There are no exemptions if you are selling product
wholesale for resale.

Selling direct to restaurants and food service

Growers selling these same products directly to
restaurants and institutional food buyers need to
check with the buyers for inspection requirements.
They may or may not require inspection.

Contact the WSDA Fruit and Vegetable Field Inspection
Office to locate field offices or for detailed information
on inspection. Fees for inspection vary for each
commodity. For more information call Wenatchee,
509-662-6161, or Yakima, 509-249-6900, or visit
agr.wa.gov.

Fruit and vegetable commissions may also provide
helpful information or other resources on their
websites. WSDA maintains a list of Washington State
commodity commissions on the website agr.wa.gov,
or call 360-902-2043.

Standards for Grades and Packs

If you are supplying a grocery store or restaurant,

the buyer may desire standard packs, sizes, and
quality. Growers may be able to negotiate the specific
requirements directly with the buyer to establish
standards that meet the buyer's needs and also work
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https://www.doh.wa.gov/AboutUs/PublicHealthSystem/LocalHealthJurisdictions
https://agr.wa.gov/services/inspections-and-investigations/inspections/fruit-and-vegetable
https://agr.wa.gov/washington-agriculture/commissions

for the farmer. For example, a negotiated purchase
agreement may state that a case of green leaf lettuce

u_n

has 24 heads, with heads no smaller than “x" and

no larger than “x,” and will be priced or purchased at
$1.50 per head or $36 per case.

Larger buyers such as chain grocery stores may
require a third-party audit to standard quality grades
and packs. Packing warehouses contract with WSDA's
Fruit and Vegetable Inspection Program as a third-
party auditor to ensure product grade and packs at
the warehouse meet the grade and pack size on the
product label that the buyer requested. Fruits and
vegetables in packing warehouses are inspected

to assure uniformity and compliance for each type

of commodity with standards for grades and packs
that are set by the federal or state government.
Grading standards include attention to maturity,
soundness, shape, size, color, and freedom from pest
or mechanical injury. Packaging standards include
attention to size, dimension, and labeling of containers
used.

The “Wholesale Success Manual” published by
FamilyFarmed.org is a helpful resource for produce
farmers who are learning about industry standards for
grades, packs, and post-harvest handling techniques
for quality and food safety.

Please see the “Selling to Grocery Stores and Food
Cooperatives” fact sheet for more information.

Other Licenses for Selling Produce

Scale registration and Inspection

Farmers who use scales (or other weighing or
measuring devices) to sell products—for example at a
farmers market, farm stand, or U-Pick—must register
their scales with the Department of Revenue Business
Licensing Service as a part of your Washington State
Business License. Registration costs vary by size. Small
scales up to 400 pounds capacity are $10.

Scale inspections are conducted by the WSDA Weights
and Measures Program. Scales must be accurate and
be legal for trade. Scales must be positioned so that
customers can observe the weight display. Contact
WSDA Weights and Measures Program for details at
360-902-2035, wtsmeasures@agr.wa.gov, or
agr.wa.gov.
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Cash Buyer, Produce Dealer, and Commission

Merchant Licenses

People or businesses buying and reselling or brokering
sales of fresh fruits and vegetables may need one of
these licenses. The Cash Buyer, Produce Dealer, or
Commission Merchant License is generally required
when dealing in agricultural products. There are

some exemptions to the requirement. Please see the
“Licensing” fact sheet for details or contact the WSDA.

Sampling Requirements

Farms that offer samples of sliced fruits and
vegetables to the public must follow the Retail Food
Code as implemented by the local health jurisdiction
(usually a county health department) where the
sampling is being done. Sampling foods that are not
TCS (“potentially hazardous”) may be exempt from
permit requirements, with approval from the local
health jurisdiction. Depending on the county, farms
that want to sample may be required to:

+ Have a food worker's card for the person offering
and/or slicing samples.

- Obtain a retail food establishment permit from the
local health department.

+ Have a handwashing station at your farm stand or
farmers market booth.

« Fulfill additional requirements pertaining
to containers, protecting samples from
contamination, washing samples, and other
preparation or refrigeration.

Find the local health jurisdiction office where you plan
to sell by searching the Washington Department of
Health website, doh.wa.gov.

Voluntary Certifications for Produce

While not required by regulations, farmers selling fresh
fruits and vegetables through certain market channels
may find that their buyers expect certain voluntary
certifications.

Good Agricultural Practices (GAP)

Farms who sell their produce to local grocery stores,
institutions and other “direct to wholesale” customers
may find that their customers require them to be

GAP audited. GAP is a voluntary, third-party audit that
serves as an assurance to buyers that produce farmers
are using standard best practices for on-farm food
safety called Good Agricultural and Good Handling


mailto:wtsmeasures@agr.wa.gov
https://agr.wa.gov/services/inspections-and-investigations/inspections/weights-and-measures
https://www.doh.wa.gov/AboutUs/PublicHealthSystem/LocalHealthJurisdictions
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Practices (GAP/GHP). While the best practices are
similar, GAP is different from FSMA in that it is not a
legal regulation. However, some farmers' buyers may
require it.

There are different types of GAP/GHP audit programs
and farms may choose which particular sections of
the audit they want performed. It is very important to
talk with your buyer to understand their expectations
before investing in the audit. See the Good
Agricultural Practices Fact Sheet for more detailed
information.

WSDA's Regional Markets Program offers on-farm food
safety guidance for small-scale and diversified farms,
including the “Bridging the GAPs Farm Guide” which
helps farms prepare for a GAP audit. Search for it by
name at agr.wa.gov, or contact
smallfarms@agr.wa.gov, 206-256-6157.

Organic

Many customers purchase from local farms because
they are motivated by environmental and health
concerns. Some buyers, such as food co-ops and
natural grocers, may require their produce vendors
to be certified organic. Some famers find they can
add value to their products and earn premium
prices for certified organic products—or other eco-
label certifications. Whether you have third-party
certifications or not, building trust with customers
through transparency is critical. It is important to
understand the rules governing the use of marketing
terms like organic. The WSDA Organic Program can
answer questions about organic certification and
marketing, agr.wa.gov/departments/organic or
360-902-1805.
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