REGULATIONS FOR SPECIFIC PRODUCTS

SELLING WINE, BEER, HARD CIDER
AND DISTILLED SPIRITS

One of the most regulated types of food businesses
are those that produce and/or sell alcoholic
beverages. Federal, state, and local laws apply.

This fact sheet includes information on:
+ Federal basic permit.
+ State and local regulations.
+ Requirements for selling at farmers markets.

Federal Basic Permit

According to federal law, every brewery, winery (which
includes cider and sake), kombucha, and distilled
spirits facility must have a federal basic permit for
alcohol producers and manufacturers from the U.S.
Department of the Treasury’'s Alcohol and Tobacco Tax
and Trade Bureau (TTB). The TTB website provides
information and explains requirements for beverage
alcohol, including beer, wine, cider, kombucha, and
distilled spirits production, in addition to labeling and
tax regulations. Complete information and applications
for the federal basic permit are available at ttb.gov.

Once an application has been completed and
approved, the TTB will inspect the facility. When
the facility passes inspection, an appropriate permit
(license to manufacture or to sell alcohol) will be
issued.

A final inspection of the building structure is
conducted by the local Washington State Liquor and
Cannabis Board (WSLCB) liquor enforcement officer
before the license is issued.

State and Local Regulations

Washington State licensing regulations for wineries,
breweries, and distilleries all fall under “Alcoholic
Beverage Control” Hard cider is classified as a wine in
Washington.

WSLCB's Manufacturers, Importers, and Wholesalers
(MIW) Section enforces state liquor laws and
administrative rules that apply to breweries, wineries,
and distilled spirits manufacturers.

HANDBOOK for SMALL AND DIRECT MARKETING FARMS 2019

4

If you produce only alcohol-containing beverages, and
no other food or beverage products, licensing for your
facility is through WSLCB. WSLCB requires that WSDA
Food Processor License standards be maintained.
However, if you process or manufacture a non-
alcoholic beverage or other food products in addition
to alcoholic beverages, a WSDA Food Processor
License is required as well as the WSLCB license.

The building structure and permit(s) are subject to
approval by the local municipality and/or county in
addition to approval by WSLCB.

To learn more about the licenses available, particularly
the Domestic Winery, Distillery, Craft Distillery or
Microbrewery License, go to the licensing services
section of the WSLCB website, Icb.wa.gov and click
on “Apply for a Liquor License." Select the “Non-Retail
Liquor License descriptions and fees” section.

A Washington State Business License is required
before obtaining a liquor license. Liquor licenses are
an endorsement to the state business license. Find
the application in the liquor licenses section at: bls.
dor.wa.gov. Licenses range from $75 to $2,000
depending on the size and nature of the operation.

Requirements for Selling at Farmers Markets

Washington State wineries, breweries and distilleries
may sell bottled wine, hard cider, beer, and distilled
spirits in unopened bottles at authorized farmers
markets. Washington State wineries and breweries
may provide samples to customers at an authorized
farmers market. Wine sold at these farmers markets
must be made entirely from grapes grown in a
recognized Washington appellation or from other
agricultural products grown in the state. Beer and
spirits must be produced in Washington.

Vending rules

To sell at a farmers market, the winery, brewery or
distillery vendor, as well as the qualifying farmers
market, must apply for approval through WSLCB at
least 50 days before any sale of alcohol.


https://www.ttb.gov/alcohol/bev-alc.shtml
https://lcb.wa.gov/licensing/apply-liquor-license
http://bls.dor.wa.gov/liquor.aspx
http://bls.dor.wa.gov/liquor.aspx
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The vendor must have a valid liquor license
from WSLCB, and must submit an “Application
for Added Endorsement,” which is $75 per year.
The added endorsement requires a list of the
markets where products will be sold for the
following month, including the dates and times
products will be sold. This endorsement allows
selling of bottled beer, wine, or distilled spirits
for off-premises consumption and sampling of
beer or wine at a qualified farmers market.

4 Additionally, the farmers market must submit an
“Application for Farmers Market Authorization to
Allow the Sale of Bottled Wine, Beer or Spirits.”
A renewal authorization, called the “Continued
Qualification Checklist,” is sent by WSLCB in
the mail by May 15 of each year. The market
manager has 45 days to renew before the
previous authorization expires on June 30 of
each year.

Find both of the applications on the licensing

section of the WSLCB website, Icb.wa.gov. Click on
“Application for Special Permits” and then on “Farmers
Markets.”

Sampling rules

Vendors licensed to sell wine or beer, and farmers
markets in Washington State, may sample at farmers
markets, only under the following conditions:

« No more than three wineries or microbreweries
combined may offer samples at a qualifying
farmers market per day.

« Samples must be two ounces or less; a winery
or microbrewery may provide a maximum of two
ounces of wine or beer to a customer per day.

« Customers must remain at the designated booth,
stall, or other designated location while sampling
beer or wine.

« Winery and microbrewery licensees and
employees who are involved in sampling activities
under this section must hold a class 12 or class
13 alcohol server permit.

A winery or microbrewery must have food
available for customers to consume while
sampling beer or wine, or must be adjacent to a
vendor offering prepared food.

Sampling of distilled spirits is not allowed at farmers
markets in Washington.

Alcoholic beverages sold at farmers markets that are
members of the Washington State Farmers Market
Association (WSFMA) must be made entirely from
Washington-grown ingredients, or from grapes
grown in a recognized Washington appellation,
except for certain additives required for processing,
not amounting to more than 5 percent of the

total volume. Find details by searching for “Roots
Guidelines” at wafarmersmarkets.org. The WSFMA
website also includes a listing of member markets.

Shipping wine and online sales

Most states allow some direct shipment of alcohol to
customers. However, the specific regulations vary by
state. It is important to understand the rules in the
state you will ship to before making any sales. Find
an overview in the “Selling Online: E-commerce” fact
sheet.

For more information on selling wine, beer and/or
spirits at farmers markets, requirements for qualifying
farmers markets, and the details on direct shipping
laws, visit Icb.wa.gov, or call the Liquor and Cannabis
Board's Licensing Services at 360-664-1600.
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http://lcb.wa.gov/licensing/farmers-markets
http://wafarmersmarkets.org/wsfma-rootsmemberguidelines/
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