RUNNING A SUCCESSFUL FARM BUSINESS

Washington State law requires certain licenses and
permits for farm and food businesses, depending

on the type of farm or food business you operate,
what products you sell, where and how you sell your
products, and possibly even production methods
(e.g., pesticide application). The licenses and permits
highlighted below are meant to help guide farmers
in the requirements for running a farm business. This
fact sheet is not intended to provide legal advice.
Please contact specific agencies as well as other
jurisdictions (county and city) to verify what you need.

This fact sheet includes information on:
« Washington State Business License.
« Specialty licenses.
« Pesticide Applicator License.

« Cash Buyer's, Produce Dealer's License, and
Commission Merchant License.

« U.S. Department of Transportation intrastate
number.

« Commercial Driver License Exemption.
« Weights and Measures.
+ Food Safety licenses and permits.

The licensing requirements for any one

business will vary depending on the products
and activities of that business. Licenses and
permits that are commonly required across most
farm businesses are included here. Licensing
requirements by farm product are addressed in
the “Regulations for Specific Products” section of
this Handbook for Small and Direct Marketing
Farms.

Washington State Business License

A Washington Business License is required for any
business that grosses more than $12,000 annually. It
is also required for any business that needs a specialty
license to operate, even if that business grosses less
than $12,000 per year.

This State Business License (sometimes called the

“Master Business License”) is the basic license for
doing business in Washington State. By getting a State
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Business License, you will be assigned a Washington
State Unified Business Number or UBI.

The Washington State Business License application

is used to do many business functions, including
applying for specialty licenses (known as
“endorsements”), obtaining a county or city business
license, registering a trade name, hiring an employee,
or changing a business location. Applying for a State
Business License establishes your accounts with
multiple Washington State agencies, including the
departments of Revenue, Employment Security, and
Labor & Industries.

The Business license application is available from the
Washington State Department of Revenue (DOR)
Business Licensing Service. The Business Licensing
Service “Business Licensing Wizard” can customize the
licensing information for your business. Find it at the
DOR website, or call 800-451-7985, or

email BLS@dor.wa.gov.

Ownership structure

To get your business license, you will need to clarify
your ownership structure. The definitions of business
ownership structures are found by searching for
“Ownership Structure” at bls.dor.wa.gov. If the
business will be a Limited Liability Company (LLC),
partnership, or corporation, you will need to register
at the Secretary of State’s Office website, sos.wa.gov,
before filling out the Washington Business License.
The cost of this registration is $180 for a paper
application and $200 for an online application.

Employees

Prior to completing the business license application,

it is helpful to know if you will have employees within
90 days of start-up, because this must be designated
on your application in order to register for optional
workers’ compensation coverage for employees, or for
business owners.

See the “Labor on the Farm” and “Insurance” fact
sheets for more information.


mailto:BLS@dor.wa.gov
https://bls.dor.wa.gov/ownershipstructure.aspx.
http://www.sos.wa.gov/corps
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Fees

The Washington Business License application fee

is $19. However, it costs an additional $19 each

time you change your Business License in any way,
including adding a specialty license, hiring employees
after you've completed your license, or registering a
trade name after you've completed your license. Trade
names (e.g., Market Gardens doing business as Edible
Gardens) are optional, and it costs an additional $5 to
register each trade name.

Specialty Licenses

Specialty licenses are added on to your Business
License, and are administered through the Washington
State Business Licensing Service. Specialty Licenses
are required by law. Some of the most frequently
encountered specialty licenses are for farm businesses
selling:

« By weight and using scales.

« Eggs off the farm.

+ More than $100 of nursery products per year
(excluding cut flowers).

+ Taxable items (such as cut flowers).

« Alcohol.

« Seeds grown by farms other than your own.
« And distributing bulk fertilizer.

« Pesticides.

If you already have a Washington Business License
and you need to add a specialty license, you will need
to go through the application process again.

Find the complete list of specialty licenses and fees
by searching on the Business and Licensing Service
webpage, bls.dor.wa.gov. Specialty licenses use the
same Business License form. If you already have a
Business License you will use the form to add the
specialty license to your existing Business License.

The fees depend up which specialty license you need.
For example, if you want to sell eggs to a restaurant,
you will need to apply and pay online for your
Business License (if you don't have it already) and
your specialty Egg Handler/Dealer License. Once you
have these licenses, then the WSDA will inspect your
operation. When approved, your licensing becomes
complete and you are ready to do business.

Specialty licenses are renewable annually. Keep track
of your renewal dates to ensure your licenses are
current and to avoid extra fees.

Pesticide Applicator License

The Pesticide Management Division of the WSDA
is responsible for ensuring that pesticides are

used safely and legally. The Pesticide Management
Division's Licensing Section is responsible for
providing initial licensing and recertification for
pesticide applicators, dealers, consultants, and
structural pest inspectors (SPI's).

WSDA requires an annual Pesticide Applicators License
for people if they apply or supervise the application of,
a restricted use pesticide:

+ On land that they own or rent.

« For their employer to produce an agricultural
commodity.

The license fees currently range from $33 to $215
per year, depending on application type. Classes and
tests are required for each license and are available
throughout the state. Many of these classes are
available in Spanish. Find more information at WSDA's
website, agr.wa.gov, by searching for “Pesticide
Classes,” or contact license@agr.wa.gov, 877-301-
4555.

Cash Buyer, Produce Dealer, and Commission

Merchant License

One of these three licenses may be required to

buy agricultural products directly from growers and
resell them. These licenses are intended to ensure
growers are paid for the products they sell. The WSDA
Agricultural Investigations Program has the authority
to ensure compliance of these regulations. Buyers can
be fined for acting as a cash buyer or produce dealer
without a license. These licenses apply to buying and
reselling produce, tree fruit, livestock, hay and straw,
hops, seeds, and other agricultural products, including
honey. These licenses are not required to buy wine
grapes, dairy products, grains, and legumes.

Fruit stands carry these licenses and farmers market
vendors who purchase produce from growers for
resale at the market are also required to have a
license.

The way a buyer pays the grower for product
determines which license is needed.
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http://bls.dor.wa.gov/specialtylicenses.aspx.
https://agr.wa.gov/departments/pesticides-and-fertilizers

Cash Buyer License

A Cash Buyer License is required for anyone who
buys any amount of produce, tree fruit, hops, seeds,
and other agricultural products, including honey,

for reselling and pays cash at the time of taking
possession. A cashier's check, certified check, or bank
draft may be used instead of cash, but no personal
or business checks may be used. A cash buyer may
not deal in livestock, hay, grain, or straw. Cash Buyer
Licenses cost $135 per year, and no bond is required.

Produce Dealer License

A Produce Dealer License is similar to a Cash Buyer
License. It is required for anyone who buys produce,
tree fruit, hops, seeds, and other agricultural products,
including honey, for reselling, and pays the grower by
personal check or buys on credit. A Produce Dealer
License is $605, and the licensee must be bonded for
a minimum of $10,000.

A Commission Merchant License

A Commission Merchant License is required for
anyone who buys produce, tree fruit, hops, seeds, and
other agricultural products for the purpose of reselling,
and is being paid a sales commission by the producer.
Anyone who receives any agricultural product on
consignment for sale or processing also needs this
license. A Commission Merchant License costs $605,
and the licensee must be bonded for a minimum of
$10,000. The maximum bond amount is based on the
annual gross dollar amount of purchases.

Limited Dealer and Broker Licenses

There are two additional types of buyer licenses.

One is a Limited Dealer License, which is for buyers
who pay upon taking possession of the agricultural
products, and they are required to be bonded. The
second is a Broker License for people who negotiates
the purchase or sale of agricultural products without
handling the products or any part of the proceeds.
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Exemptions

There are four exemptions to the Cash Buyer and
Produce Dealer Licenses. They are not needed when:

1. The buyer uses the agricultural products for their
own home use.

2. The buyer operates out of a permanent, fixed
building that is open year-round, and the product
goes directly to the building where it is offered
for sale. For example, when a restaurant, an
independent grocery store, or school buys directly
from the farmer.

3. The buyer is a cooperative. Cooperatives are
not required to be licensed to buy directly from
growers.

4. The buyer is purchasing wine grapes, dairy
products, grains, and legumes.

The list of these licenses and application forms

are available online at agr.wa.gov by searching for
“Agricultural Investigations.” For more information,
contact the WSDA Agricultural Investigations Program
at 360-902-1857, commerch@agr.wa.gov.

U.S. Department of Transportation Intrastate

Number

In Washington State, commercial vehicles owned
and operated by farmers must have a Department of
Transportation intrastate number from USDOT if the
vehicle is both:

+ More than 10,000 pounds gross vehicle weight
and one of the types of vehicles described by
DOL at www.dol.wa.gov/vehicleregistration/
intrastatedot.html.

+ Used to transport your own orchard, farm, or dairy
products, livestock, or plant or animal waste within
Washington State.

The USDQT intrastate number is free, and the vehicles
are exempt from safety audits and compliance
reviews.

To get a USDOT number for the first time, go to the
U.S. Department of Transportation, Federal Motor
Carrier Safety Administration at fmcsa.dot.gov, click
on “Registration.”

For help with online registration, or to receive the form
by mail, call 360-596-3810 or 360-753-0353.


https://agr.wa.gov/services/inspections-and-investigations/investigations/agricultural-investigations/commission-merchants
https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
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Commercial Driver License Exemption

By law, farmers transporting farm equipment, supplies,
or products to or from a farm in a farm vehicle are not
required to have a Commercial Driver License if the
vehicle is:

+ Operated by the farmer or a farm employee.

 Not used in the operation of a common or
contract motor carrier.

 Used within 150 miles of the farm (in an air-mile
radius).

In this case, farm products include Christmas trees
or wood products transported by vehicles weighing
no more than 40,000 pounds licensed gross
vehicle weight. This weight restriction applies only to
Christmas trees and wood products.

If farmers meet all requirements for this Commercial
Driver License exemption, they may operate farm-
exempt vehicles and cross into Idaho and Oregon.

Weights and Measures

Any business that uses scales or other weighing or
measuring devices to sell products—for example at a
farmers market, farm stand, or U-Pick—must register
their scales with the Department of Revenue Business
Licensing Service as a part of your Washington State
Business License. Registration costs vary by size. Small
scales up to 400 pounds capacity are $10.

Scale inspections are conducted by the WSDA Weights
and Measures Program. Scales must be accurate and
be legal for trade. Scales must be positioned so that
customers can observe the weight display. Contact
WSDA Weights and Measures Program for details,
360-902-2035, wismeasures@agr.wa.gov, or agr.
wa.gov.

Food 5afety Licenses and Permits

There are a variety of licenses and permits that may
be required when handling, preparing, or processing
food and edible products. This is an overview.
Additional information about these licenses and
permits is included throughout this handbook.

Which license is required will depend on your specific
business activities. It is very important to contact both
the local health department and the WSDA Food
Safety Program to determine which permit or license
is needed for your specific products and marketing.

A list of local health jurisdiction offices is found by
searching the Washington Department of Health
website, doh.wa.gov. Contact the WSDA Food Safety
Program, 360-902-1876, foodsafety@agr.wa.gov, or
search for it at agr.wa.gov.

Food Worker Card

All food handlers in Washington State must take the
basic food safety training before handling food served
to the public. Food workers who attend a food safety
training class and pass the State of Washington exam
on food safety basics are issued a Food Worker Card
(sometimes called Food Handler Permit). The Food
Worker Card course and test is available online at
foodworkercard.wa.gov. The online test can be taken
in several languages, including English and Spanish.
A study guide and additional information is available
through the Washington State Department of Health's
website, doh.wa.gov, by searching “Food Worker
Card." A first Food Worker Card is valid for two years
and costs $10. Renewal cards are valid for three or
five years.

Retail food permits

Businesses selling food in a retail setting must have
a retail food permit from the local health jurisdiction
(health department). There are a variety of retail
food permits that may be required depending on the
business activity, for example making prepared foods
to sell at a restaurant, café, food truck or other retail
venue, or selling products as a vendor at a farmers
market. It is important to contact the local health
department directly to determine which permits are
required. See the Selling Ready to Eat Foods fact
sheet and the “Regulations for Specific Products”
Section of this handbook.

Cottage Food Permit

Some businesses making specific low-risk food
products for sale directly to the end consumer may
be able to do so in an inspected home kitchen with
a Cottage Food Permit from WSDA. See the Cottage
Food Permit fact sheet.
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https://agr.wa.gov/services/inspections-and-investigations/inspections/weights-and-measures
https://agr.wa.gov/services/inspections-and-investigations/inspections/weights-and-measures
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mailto:foodsafety@agr.wa.gov
https://agr.wa.gov/departments/food-safety/food-safety
http://www.foodworkercard.wa.gov/
https://www.msn.com/spartan/ientp?locale=en-US&market=US&enableregulatorypsm=0&NTLogo=1&IsFRE=0https://www.doh.wa.gov/CommunityandEnvironment/Food/FoodWorkerandIndustry/FoodWorkerCard

WSDA Food Processor License

A WSDA Food Processor License is generally required
for "handling or processing of any food in any manner
of preparation for sale for human consumption.”

Food processing includes canning, freezing, drying,
dehydrating, cooking, pressing, powdering, packaging,
baking, heating, mixing, grinding, churning, separating,
extracting, cutting, fermenting, eviscerating, preserving,
jarring, slaughtering, and other forms of food
processing. See the “WSDA Food Processor License”
fact sheet.

Ty
9. Insurance

10. Labor on the Farm

23. WSDA Food Processor License and Facilities
24. Cottage Food Permit

48. Selling Ready-to-Eat Foods

LICENSING | FACT SHEETS

RUNNING A SUCCESSFUL FARM BUSINESS



