
STATE OF WASHINGTON 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 

P.O. Box 42560 Olympia, Washington 98504-2560 (360) 902-1800 

Registering Your Business 

Nearly every business operating in Washington State needs some type of business registration or license. 

Normally that registration requires filing a Business License Application through the state Business 

Licensing Service (BLS). 

If you are starting a new business, a good place to begin is the BLS home page at http://bls.dor.wa.gov/. 

Find information to get your business licensed in Washington. Be sure to review the Business Resource 

Guide at: http://bls.dor.wa.gov/forms/wabooklet.pdf and go through the steps of the Business Licensing 

Guide at https://www.bls.dor.wa.gov/licensing.aspx to create a customized “Guide Sheet.” This guide 

includes information on the types of licenses you need along with contact information. You can also 

download forms or request to have them sent to you by fax. There is specific information for out-of-

state businesses at http://dor.wa.gov/Content/DoingBusiness/BusinessTypes/

doingBus_OutOfStBus.aspx. 

You may submit a Business License Application either on paper or online. Online applications are 

usually processed in 2 business days. Save time and apply online at http://bls.dor.wa.gov. Your Business 

License, which will list all your approved licenses and registrations, should be mailed to you within 

approximately two weeks. 

If any of the licenses or registrations you request must be renewed, BLS will send you a reminder notice 

to renew. Examples of renewing licenses relevant to agriculture include the Pesticide Dealer ($67/year) 

and Bulk Fertilizer Distributor ($25/year). Save time and renew online at http://bls.dor.wa.gov.  

Getting Licensed as a Pesticide Dealer or Bulk Fertilizer Distributor 

What does the law require? 

Pesticide law requires a business that distributes any non-home & garden pesticide, including those 

located outside of Washington State, to be licensed as a Pesticide Dealer. This license, which is an 

addendum to the Business License, is obtained through the Business Licensing Service. It carries a 

$67 fee and cannot be issued until the dealership identifies an employee that carries a current 

Washington State Department of Agriculture (WSDA) Dealer Manager license. Note: The requirement 

to employ a WSDA-licensed Dealer Manager does not apply to out-of-state Pesticide Dealers. 

Fertilizer law requires anyone that distributes bulk fertilizer to obtain a license for each facility 

distributing in or into the state. The Bulk Fertilizer License is an annual $25 endorsement to the 

Business License and should be filed with BLS by completing a Business License Application. 

What forms do I need for a Pesticide Dealer license? 

You will need to complete a Business License Application and an Agricultural Addendum. The 

Business License Application is available at http://bls.dor.wa.gov/file.aspx and the Agricultural 

Addendum is at http://bls.dor.wa.gov/forms/700307.pdf. When you file online the information from 
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both forms is collected in one step. You need to submit both forms even if you have previously 

submitted the Business Application. You will need to supply the name of your employee licensed with 

WSDA as a Dealer Manager. Note: Out-of state pesticide dealers are exempt from the requirement to 

employ a licensed Dealer Manager. 

How do I or one of my employees obtain the Dealer Manager license? 

In order to obtain the Dealer Manager license, you must pass WSDA’s Dealer Manager Exam and pay 

the $33 fee.  

What other legal requirements should a Pesticide Dealer be aware of? 
Pesticide dealers must keep records on the distribution of non-home and garden pesticides. For more 
information on dealer recordkeeping, go to WAC 16-228-1300 of the General Pesticide Rules at 
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=16-228. In addition, you may only distribute Restricted 
Use pesticides to properly licensed individuals you have positively identified. For more information, see 
WAC 16-228-1231(6) of the General Pesticide Rules at the above link. 

What forms do I need for a Bulk Fertilizer Distributor License? 
You can apply for this as part of your business license application at http://bls.dor.wa.gov or under 
Section 2 of the paper Business License Application. Simply select “Bulk Fertilizer Distributor License” 
and add the $25 fee. Be sure to include this fee with your final payment.  

What other legal requirements should a Bulk Fertilizer Distributor be aware of? 
Bulk fertilizer licensees are required to report tonnage semi-annually to WSDA on fertilizer distributed 
in Washington. 

Who can I call if I have questions? 
If you have questions about the application process, call BLS at 800-451-7985. For questions regarding 
Bulk Fertilizer licensing, contact WSDA’s Registration staff at 360-902-2025. If you have questions 
about Dealer Manager licensing, contact WSDA’s Pesticide Licensing staff at 877-301-4555. Questions 
regarding recordkeeping or distribution of restricted use pesticides can be directed to Pesticide 
Compliance by calling 877-301-4555 and selecting the menu option for Compliance.

Other Business Related Licenses Administered by WSDA 
Businesses that commercially apply pesticides must be licensed as Commercial Applicators. Businesses 
that perform structural pest inspections must have a Structural Pest Inspector Company License. 

A Commercial Feed License is required for anyone who (a) manufacturers a commercial feed; (b) 

distributes a commercial feed; or (c) whose name appears on a commercial feed label as guarantor. A 

license for each facility must be obtained before distributing by completing a Commercial Feed License 

Application Form 4273. For more information, go to http://agr.wa.gov/ or call 360-902-1942. 

For more information, please call WSDA toll-free at 877-301-4555 or email license@agr.wa.gov. 

Inquiries regarding availability of this publication in alternate formats should be directed to WSDA at 360-902 -2015 or 

Telecommunication Device for the Deaf at 360-902-1996. 
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