COMMISSION MERCHANT
ACT

In 1959, Washington State implemented the
Commission Merchant Act designed to protect
the agricultural industry and consumers. The act
regulates people and businesses who receive
on consignment or take possession, title, or
control of agricultural products for resale or
processing. WSDA's Ag Investigations Program
can help producers obtain proper payment for
their agricultural products sold or entrusted to
persons or businesses.

The act requires people or businesses that
receive agricultural goods for resale to obtain
a license and, in some instances, requires an
agricultural bond. The Agricultural Investigations
program is solely funded through the collection
of license fees.

There are several licenses and the classification
may depend on the type of business conducted
within the agricultural industry. Licenses must
be renewed each year by December 31st.

COMMISSION MERCHANT
AND DEALER PROGRAM

Additional items/licenses

* Businesses or persons can license in
more than one category, i.e., Commission
Merchant and Dealer.

+ Additional agriculture license plates and tabs
can be obtained.

+ Manifest of cargo books can be purchased
from WSDA.

More information

« RCW 20.01;
app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=20.01

+  WSDA Ag Investigations:
agr.wa.gov/aginvestigations

+ USDA Packers and Stockyard Enforcement:
ams.usda.gov/services/enforcement/psd
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CASH BUYER LICENSE

Most applicable to a farmers market vendor.
Cash buyers may purchase agricultural products
for resale and must pay for products with cash
or a cashier’s check. No surety is required.

COMMISSION MERCHANT
LICENSE

Any person or business who receives
agricultural product on consignment for sale or
processing for sale, accepts product in trust for
sale, or handles product for the account of the
consignor.

*+ Hay, straw, and seed minimum surety of
$15,000.

* All others, surety of $10,000.

BROKER'S LICENSE

Brokers do not take possession of either the
agricultural product or proceeds. This category
does not require a bond.

LIMITED DEALER LICENSE

Applies to persons or businesses where the
producer is paid in cash or check upon taking
possession of product.

*+ Hay, straw, and seed minimum surety of
$15,000.

* All others, surety of $10,000.

An alternate surety calculation can be provided.

DEALER LICENSE

Any person or businesses who solicits, contracts
for, obtains, buys, or agrees to purchase any
agricultural products for resale or processing.
This includes livestock, agricultural products,
alfalfa products, or seed on behalf of another.

* Hay, straw, and seed minimum surety of
$15,000.

* All others, surety of $10,000.

Dealers of livestock must pay within seven days
and dealers of all other products must pay within
30 days of taking possession or control unless
other terms are agreed to by contract. Livestock
dealers must register and bond with USDA
Packers and Stockyards and license with WSDA.

Hay and straw dealers must furnish producers
with an endorsed, completed manifest of cargo
for each load and also provide a certified net and
gross weight from a certified scale within 72 hours.

PRODUCER PROTECTION

The Washington State Department
of Agriculture (WSDA) Agricultural
Investigations Program enforces the
Commission Merchant Act through the
investigation of complaints. Its mission
is to protect producers, buyers, and
sellers of agricultural products from
illegal activities. The program’s highly
experienced investigators understand
the products produced in Washington
State and our state's agriculture
industry.

To file a complaint for an
investigation, contact:

WSDA AG INVESTIGATIONS

21 North 1st Avenue

Suite 110

Yakima, WA 98902

Phone: 509-249-6961

E-mail: commerch@agr.wa.gov

Protecting Washington
State Producers






