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2014 Farm Bill

 State departments of agriculture and
institutions of higher education were

permitted to produce hemp as part of
a pilot program for research purposes.

* Did not allow for the production of
hemp for general commercial activity.

e Did not remove industrial hemp from
the controlled substances list.




2018 Farm Bill A SDA

e Removed industrial hemp from Schedule 1 list
under the Controlled Substances Act.
* Initiated the state legislature to create and pass a
state bill for hemp (E2SSB 5276) which;
e Directed WSDA to:

a. Submit a state plan for regulating

Hemp to USDA for approval.
b. Establish new program rules for 2020,

including;

i. Allowing the interstate
transportation or shipment of
hemp lawfully produced in the
state under a license issued by
WSDA. 1




USDA Final Interim Rule 5o

* The USDA Interim Final Rule (IFR) was effective upon publication in the
Federal Register on October 31, 2019

* The IFR also included a public comment period (expires January 29, 2020)
allowing USDA to seek input on the rule as it was enacted. USDA will use the
2020 growing season as a chance to “test drive the interim rule to guide any
adjustments that are made in the final rule.”

* The IFR sunsets after two years, which allows time both to make it through a
full crop cycle and to deliver a final rule.
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Key Provisions of the WSDA Plan gi-a

* The USDA IFR provided guidance on basic provisions needed from
Washington State for plan approval:

* Procedures for tracking the land where hemp is grown.

* Procedures for testing, using post-decarboxylation or other similarly
reliable methods, delta-9 THC concentration levels.

* Procedures for disposing of non-compliant plants
* Procedures to share information with USDA

* Certification of available resources to manage the plan.



Key Provisions of the WSDA Rules
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e Sampling — WSDA will ensure that a representative
sample of the hemp produced is physically collected.

e Submit Hemp Harvest Inspection/Sampling Request form
at least 30-days prior to expected harvest to WSDA.

e Sampling must be conducted within 15-days prior to the
anticipated harvest.

* WSDA approved field inspector will collect samples.

* WSDA sampling protocol has specific steps for sampling,
including how to collect a statistically representative
sample (the document can be found on the WSDA Hemp
FAQ website).




Key Provisions of the WSDA Rules continued TS

* Testing — must be completed by a DEA-registered laboratory.

o Washington Testing protocol can be accessed via the Hemp FAQ website.
-"'_;H.i)_&.f Agricultur

* A measurement of uncertainty or "MU" must be estimated and
Testing Protocol for

Identifying Delta-9 reported with test results to ensure the test uncertainty is taken
Tetrahydrocannabinol

(THC) Concentration
in Hemp results will be considered to be acceptable. A measurement of

into account. If the actual THC level is within the range of MU, the

uncertainty is a scientific calculation that make allowances for
variation and sampling and testing procedures.

* If a licensee's hemp tests higher than 0.3 percent but less than
0.5 percent THC concentration, the licensee may either request a
THC retest within thirty days or resampling of the same lot, at their

e own expense.

-



Key Provisions of the WSDA Rules continued o
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e At a minimum, licensees are required to post a sign on

each side of every registered land area listed on the

application including the following information:
a) The department-issued license number;
b) Crop type; and
c) The department contact phone number.



Total THC versus Delta-9 THC gl

* Delta-9 THC is the number that needs to be 0.3 percent or below for Hemp. There are two common testing
methodologies for THC concentration testing:

1. Gas Chromatography: This method uses heat and de-carboxylates the THCA in the material tested. The
only result that is measured is delta-9 THC.
2.High-Performance Liquid Chromatography (HPLC): This method is without heat and the THCA amount is
measured, including delta-9 THC if present (Total THC). HPLC is the method Washington State prefers.
a. After the HPLC measurement a scientific calculation is applied to find the delta-9 THC amount in
the THCA: (delta-9 THC = delta-9 THC + (THCA * .877))

* The equation states 87.7% of the measured THCA is delta-9 THC. The remaining 13.3% is the carbon molecule
that is lost during de-carboxylation. This is then added to the delta-9 THC amount that was measured in the
Hemp material. The result is the total delta-9 THC in the material tested.

* Delta-9 THC can naturally be present in plant material and is caused by things such as sunlight, heat, amount
of time flower has been on the plant, stress etc.



Hemp Licensing P
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* The only license given for processing hemp is a Food Processor
license through the WSDA Food Safety division.

* The WSDA Hemp Program does not have regulatory authority
over the general processing of Hemp.

* Hemp products developed from processing other than Food HEMP PRODUCER LICENSE
. Washington State Department of Agriculture
ProceSS|ng need to be FDA approved. Commodity Inspection Division - Olympia, Washington 98504
* To produce hemp, you first need to be licensed or authorized Issued to: Joe Farmer License No: 53-____
0000 Hemp Rd Expires: 06/01/2018
under the WSDA hemp program. HempVille WA 98831

° App||cat|0ns to Obta|n a ||Cense to produce hemp are ava”able The above entity is authorized to conduct business within the State of Washington

conditioned on the faithful observance of the Laws, Rules, and Regulation governing such.

On the WSDA hemp program WEbSite, As required by RCW 15.140 and WAC 16-306
* Please remember that you cannot receive a hemp production

v d Washington

g St Deparvara
Date issued: 06/01/2017 -'w- Agriculture

license under the WSDA hemp program, if you have been
convicted of a state or federal felony related to a controlled
I— substance anytime in the last 10 years.



Hemp Licensing continued
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* Basic steps to becoming a hemp producer under the WSDA hemp program are as follows:

* Step one, apply to the WSDA and receive a license to grow hemp. (Criminal History Report is required with
application — within 60-days). Form and payment must be mailed to WSDA — email submissions will not be
accepted.

* WAC 16-306-140 Hemp producer license fees.

Effective January 1, 2020, license fees are as follows:
Annual License Fee License Modification Fee
S750 $200

Effective June 1, 2020, license fees are as follows:
Annual License Fee License Modification Fee Late License Fee (After March 31,-2021)

$1200 $200 $200
* Step two. After you have planted hemp visit your local USDA Farm Service Agency office, provide the FSA
office with your state license.

* You should also provide the FSA office with the geospatial locations where you are growing hemp. Upon doing
so you will receive a lot number or, lot numbers, from the FSA.



Hemp Harvest Procedures
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* Please remember when it is time to sample your lot for THC
content, you will submit a harvest/sample inspection request 30-
days from anticipated harvest. Form is available on the Hemp
Program website. Submit form to hemp@agr.wa.gov

* The sample will not be taken until 15-days before anticipated

harvest.
* $200 inspection fee plus time (540 per hour) and mileage (50.58) a
mile one-way from where the field inspector originates

* If the sample test is compliant at or below 0.3 percent WSDA will
issue THC Certification. Hemp is not allowed to be transported from
the registered land area until certification is given.

* Voluntary testing of Hemp material is also available through WSDA.

This option can be selected on the Hemp Harvest
Inspection/Sampling Request form. Mycotoxins, Heavy Metals, and
Non-approved pesticides are measured.

* A certificate for human consumption will be issued if material is
compliant — see WAC 16-306-100 for testing specifics.

Washinglon b
e r— Sanie Department of | g
WVSDy Agric‘ultun: 2
Human Consumption Certification (Veoluntary)

t t of hemp material is suitable for human consum T

Field /Lot 1D 4

Mame and DEA Registration o of Lab:

Pesticide Compliant: || Yes No
My ves | |N
Heawy Metal Compliant: || Yes Ho

ption in compRance with

WAL 16-306-100

Washington
——— Shate Department of
A WNSDA_ Agriculture

This lot of hemp material i

in compliance with

Date:

MName

License Number: £3-

Address

Field /Lot 1D W:

MName and DEA Registration # of Lab:

Test Result:

MHemp Pr
B Box 42591
Clympia WA 985042591

THC Certification

lis suitable for interstate commerce

chapters BEW 15 140 and WAL 16-306,




Corrective Action Plan T
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* A hemp licensee may be subject to a corrective action plan
established by the department to correct negligent violations of this

chapter including, but not limited to:
* Failing to provide a legal description of land on which the producer
produces hemp; G oA
* Failing to obtain a license or other required authorization from the , L
department; or \ >
* Producing Cannabis Sativa L. with delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol ~‘L
concentration of more than 0.3 percent on a dry weight basis. 5 -

* A hemp licensee shall comply with a corrective action plan

established by the department to correct the negligent violation,

including: . ——

* A reasonable date by which the hemp producer shall correct the negligent
violation;

* A requirement that the hemp producer shall periodically report to the
department, as applicable, on the compliance of the hemp producer with the
regulations under this chapter for a period of at least two calendar years.



Washmgton

State Department

WSDA Agr[culture

Thank You!

WSDA Hemp Program

For additional information, contact:
hemp@agr.wa.gov



mailto:hemp@agr.wa.gov
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