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STATE OF WASHINGTON
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
P.O. Box 42560 Olympia, Washington 98504-2560 (360) 902-1800

Registering Your Business

Nearly every business operating in Washington State needs some type of business registration or license.
Normally that registration requires filing a Business License Application through the state Business
Licensing Service (BLS).

If you are starting a new business, a good place to begin is the BLS home page at http://bls.dor.wa.gov/.
Find information to get your business licensed in Washington. Be sure to review the Business Resource
Guide at: http://bls.dor.wa.gov/forms/wabooklet.pdf and go through the steps of the Business Licensing
Guide at http://bls.dor.wa.gov/blg/ to create a customized “Guide Sheet.” This guide includes
information on the types of licenses you need along with contact information. You can also download
forms or request to have them sent to you by fax. There is specific information for out-of-state
businesses at http://dor.wa.gov/Content/DoingBusiness/BusinessTypes/doingBus_OutOfStBus.aspx.

You may submit a Business License Application either on paper or online. Online applications are
usually processed in 2 business days. Save time and apply online at http://bls.dor.wa.gov. Your Business
License, which will list all your approved licenses and registrations, should be mailed to you within
approximately two weeks.

If any of the licenses or registrations you request must be renewed, BLS will send you a reminder notice
to renew. Examples of renewing licenses relevant to agriculture include the Pesticide Dealer ($67/year)
and Bulk Fertilizer Distributor ($25/year). Save time and renew online at http://bls.dor.wa.gov.

Getting Licensed as a Pesticide Dealer or Bulk Fertilizer Distributor

What does the law require?

Pesticide law requires a business that distributes any non-home & garden pesticide, including those
located outside of Washington State, to be licensed as a Pesticide Dealer. This license, which is an
addendum to the Business License, is obtained through the Business Licensing Service. It carries a
$67 fee and cannot be issued until the dealership identifies an employee that carries a current
Washington State Department of Agriculture (WSDA) Dealer Manager license. Note: The requirement
to employ a WSDA-licensed Dealer Manager does not apply to out-of-state Pesticide Dealers.

Fertilizer law requires anyone that distributes bulk fertilizer to obtain a license for each facility
distributing in or into the state. The Bulk Fertilizer License is an annual $25 endorsement to the
Business License and should be filed with BLS by completing a Business License Application.

What forms do | need for a Pesticide Dealer license?

You will need to complete a Business License Application and an Agricultural Addendum. The
Business License Application is available at http://bls.dor.wa.gov/file.aspx and the Agricultural
Addendum is at http://bls.dor.wa.gov/forms/700307.pdf. When you file online the information from
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both forms is collected in one step. You need to submit both forms even if you have previously
submitted the Business Application. You will need to supply the name of your employee licensed with
WSDA as a Dealer Manager. Note: Out-of state pesticide dealers are exempt from the requirement to
employ a licensed Dealer Manager.

How do I or one of my employees obtain the Dealer Manager license?
In order to obtain the Dealer Manager license, you must pass WSDA’s Dealer Manager Exam and pay
the $33 fee. For information, go to http://agr.wa.gov/PestFert/LicensingEd/Licensing.aspx.

What other legal requirements should a Pesticide Dealer be aware of?

Pesticide dealers must keep records on the distribution of non-home and garden pesticides. For more
information on dealer recordkeeping, go to WAC 16-228-1300 of the General Pesticide Rules at
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=16-228. In addition, you may only distribute Restricted
Use pesticides to properly licensed individuals you have positively identified. For more information, see
WAC 16-228-1231(6) of the General Pesticide Rules at the above link.

What forms do I need for a Bulk Fertilizer Distributor License?

You can apply for this as part of your business license application at http://bls.dor.wa.gov or under
Section 2 of the paper Business License Application. Simply select “Bulk Fertilizer Distributor License”
and add the $25 fee. Be sure to include this fee with your final payment. For more information regarding
this license go to http://agr.wa.gov/PestFert/Fertilizers/BulkDistributionLicense.aspx.

What other legal requirements should a Bulk Fertilizer Distributor be aware of?
Bulk fertilizer licensees are required to report tonnage semi-annually to WSDA on fertilizer distributed
in Washington. For more information, go to http://agr.wa.gov/PestFert/Fertilizers/TonnageReporting.aspx.

Who can | call if I have questions?

If you have questions about the application process, call BLS at (800) 451-7985. For questions
regarding Bulk Fertilizer licensing, contact WSDA’s Registration staff at (360) 902-2025. If you have
questions about Dealer Manager licensing, contact WSDA’s Pesticide Licensing staff at (877) 301-
4555. Questions regarding recordkeeping or distribution of restricted use pesticides can be directed to
Pesticide Compliance by calling (877) 301-4555 and selecting the menu option for Compliance.

Other Business Related Licenses Administered by WSDA

Businesses that commercially apply pesticides must be licensed as Commercial Applicators. For more
information, go to http://agr.wa.gov/PestFert/Licensinged/CaSpilnfo.aspx. Businesses that perform
structural pest inspections must have a Structural Pest Inspector Company License. For more
information, go to

http://agr.wa.gov/PestFert/LicensingEd/CaSpiInfo.aspx#Structural _Pest Inspectors_.

A Commercial Feed License is required for anyone who (a) manufacturers a commercial feed; (b)
distributes a commercial feed; or (c) whose name appears on a commercial feed label as guarantor. A
license for each facility must be obtained before distributing by completing a Commercial Feed License
Application Form 4273. For more information, go to
http://agr.wa.gov/FoodAnimal/AnimalFeed/default.aspx

or call (360) 902-1942.

Inquiries regarding availability of this publication in alternate formats should be directed to WSDA at (360) 902 -2015 or
Telecommunication Device for the Deaf at (360) 902-1996.

AGR 640-163 (R/03/15) Page 2 of 2


http://agr.wa.gov/PestFert/LicensingEd/Licensing.aspx
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=16-228
http://bls.dor.wa.gov/
http://agr.wa.gov/PestFert/Fertilizers/BulkDistributionLicense.aspx
http://agr.wa.gov/PestFert/Fertilizers/TonnageReporting.aspx
http://agr.wa.gov/PestFert/LicensingEd/CaSpiInfo.aspx
http://agr.wa.gov/PestFert/LicensingEd/CaSpiInfo.aspx#Structural_Pest_Inspectors_
http://agr.wa.gov/FoodAnimal/AnimalFeed/default.aspx

