
APPLICATION FOR LICENSE UNDER THE WASHINGTON
COMMISSION MERCHANTS ACT (RCW 20.01)

IMPORTANT: Read Instructions on pages 2 and 3 BEFORE completing application

CASHIER USE ONLYWashington State Department of Agriculture
Agricultural Investigations Program

PO Box 42591
Olympia WA 98504-2591

(360) 902-1857
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 COMMISSION
MERCHANT

 Hay / Straw / Seed  ($15,000 bond minimum)
 Livestock  ($10,000 bond minimum, P&S Federal Bond required)
 Agricultural Products  ($10,000 bond minimum)

OFFICE USE ONLY

Issued

Lic. No.

 DEALER  Hay / Straw / Seed  ($15,000 bond minimum)
 Livestock  ($10,000 bond minimum, P&S Federal Bond required)
 Agricultural Products  ($10,000 bond minimum)

Plate No.

 LIMITED DEALER   ($10,000 bond minimum. Must pay upon taking possession. P&S Federal Bond required for Livestock)

 CASH BUYER   (Restricted category–see page 3 of application)

 BROKER   (Does not take possession of either product or proceeds–no bonding required)

 AGENT   (See section below to list agents)

APPLICANT NAME BUSINESS NAME

PRIMARY BUSINESS CONTACT NAME PHONE NUMBER SECONDARY BUSINESS CONTACT NAME PHONE NUMBER

EMAIL ADDRESS EMAIL ADDRESS

MAILING ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP

PHYSICAL ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP

If out-of-state firm, provide name of Washington resident authorized to accept legal services:
Name: Address:

If previously licensed under Commission Merchants Act, under what business name did you previously operate?

Types of commodities you intend to handle:
 HAY AND STRAW  LIVESTOCK  SEED  HOPS  PRODUCE  TREE FRUIT

 OTHER AGRICULTURAL PRODUCT(S) - Specify:

Projected annual gross / net volume of purchases or proceeds returned to growers: $

Agents to be licensed: (Attach list if additional)
AGENT’S FULL NAME - First, Middle, Last AGENT’S FULL NAME - First, Middle, Last

ADDRESS ADDRESS

AGENT’S FULL NAME - First, Middle, Last AGENT’S FULL NAME - First, Middle, Last

ADDRESS ADDRESS

AGENT’S FULL NAME - First, Middle, Last AGENT’S FULL NAME - First, Middle, Last

ADDRESS ADDRESS



AGR 802-7030 (R/11/17) Page 2 of 3

Business will be operated as (Check appropriate box):

 INDIVIDUAL 
Under what business name will you operate? ________________________________________________________________________________

 PARTNERSHIP (Attach a completed Partnership Agreement)

Under what business name will you operate? _______________________________________________________________________________

Give name and address of each partner:

__________________________________ 	 _ _______________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________ 	 _ _______________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________ 	 _ _______________________________________________________________________________

 CORPORATION (NOTE:  You must attach a copy of the Articles of Incorporation)

Under what business name will you operate? _______________________________________________________________________________

In what state organized or incorporated? ____________________________________ 	 When? _ _____________________________________

Home Office Address: __________________________________________________________________________________________________

Names of Officers:		  Addresses:

President:__________________________________ 	 _ _______________________________________________________________________

Vice Pres:__________________________________ 	 _ _______________________________________________________________________

Secretary:__________________________________ 	 _ _______________________________________________________________________

Treasurer: _________________________________ 	 _ _______________________________________________________________________

	 Signature of Applicant: ___________________________________________________________________

INSTRUCTIONS 

See additional instructions 
on pages 2 and 3.

Make all checks payable to: 

WSDA

Mail application, bond(s), etc. 
to:

WA State Dept. of Agriculture
Agricultural Investigations Program
PO Box 42591
Olympia WA 98504-2591

LICENSING FEES

 Commission Merchant or Dealer (including 1 set of plates and / or tabs)........$	 605.00

 Limited Dealer (including 1 set of plates and / or tabs)....................................$	 335.00

 Broker...............................................................................................................$	 405.00

 Cash Buyer (including 1 set of plates and / or tabs)........................................$	 135.00

 Agent(s)  _________ @ $66.00 ea =.................................................................$	 __________

 Additional License Category.............................................................................$	   25.00

 Penalty for late filing:  25% of License Fee (Renewals)...................................$	 __________

 Extra Plates with tabs ________ @ $10.00 per set =........................................$	 __________

 Extra Tabs _ ________@ $2.00 per set =........................................................$	 __________

	 TOTAL  $	 __________

31
24

31
03

31
03

Applicants for licenses to be issued by authority of the Washington Commission Merchants Act  
(Chapter 20.01 RCW) please study these instructions carefully.

PENALTY FOR LATE APPLICATIONS
If an application for renewal is not filed prior to January first in any one year, a penalty of 25% of the License Fee shall be 
assessed and added to the original fee and shall be paid by the applicant before the renewal license shall be issued.
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VIOLATIONS OF THIS ACT MAY CONSTITUTE CIVIL INFRACTIONS 
AND RESULT IN MONETARY PENALTIES. CERTAIN VIOLATIONS OF
THIS ACT ARE PUNISHABLE AS FELONIES.

LICENSING IN ADDITIONAL CATEGORIES
Any person licensed as a commission merchant, dealer, broker or cash buyer may apply for and secure a license in any or 
all of the remaining classifications at a fee of twenty-five dollars for such additional license.  The applicant’s principal license 
shall be in that classification requiring the greatest license fee.

If an applicant wishes to license in more than one bonded category, it may be necessary to furnish the required bond for 
each category.

LICENSE CATEGORIES
COMMISSION MERCHANT - means any person who receives any agricultural product on consignment for sale or 
processing for sale, accepts any agricultural product in trust for sale, or in any way handles any agricultural product for the 
account of the consignor.  Bonds are on a sliding scale and actual bond requirement will be based on the annual volume of 
proceeds returned to consignors. Commission Merchants are required to keep substantial records.  Please refer to 
RCW 20.01.370.

DEALER - means any person who buys, agrees to buy, or solicits or contracts for title, possession or control of, any 
agricultural product for the purpose of reselling or processing for resale.  A dealer / order buyer in livestock must furnish a 
Federal (Packers and Stockyards Administration) bond in the minimum amount of $10,000 in lieu of the state bond.  Bonds 
are on a sliding scale and actual bond requirement will be based upon the annual gross dollar volume of Washington 
agricultural purchases. Dealers are required to keep substantial records.  Please refer to RCW 20.01.380.

LIMITED DEALER - Dealers using this category must file an affidavit setting forth maximum monthly purchases and must 
make payment for purchases at the time of taking possession of the product.

CASH BUYER - means any person who buys produce, for the purpose of reselling, by paying CASH (no personal or 
business checks) at the time of taking possession of the product.  A Cash Buyer may not deal in livestock, hay, grain, or 
straw.  A cashier’s check, certified check, or bankdraft may be used in lieu of cash.

BROKER - means any person who negotiates the purchase or sale of any agricultural product.  No broker may handle the 
agricultural products involved or the proceeds of such sale.

AGENT – means any person who, on behalf of any commission merchant, dealer, broker or cash buyer acts as liaison 
between a consignor and a principal, and who transacts all or a portion of that business.  The agent license is only valid 
when working for a licensed commission merchant, dealer, broker or cash buyer.

COMMISSION MERCHANTS - RATES AND CHARGES TO BE FILED
Any person applying for a commission merchant’s license shall attach to his application a schedule of commissions, together 
with an itemized list of all charges for services rendered to a consignor.  Such commissions and charges shall not be changed 
or varied for the license period except by written notice to the director, and proper posting of such changes, as prescribed 
by the director, on the licensee’s premises.  Charges for services rendered and not listed on the schedule of commissions 
and charges filed with the director shall be rendered only on an actual cost to the licensee basis. All consignors must be 
furnished with an itemized list of charges before any contract is completed.

VEHICLE PLATES
The licensee shall prominently display license plates issued by the director on the front and back of any vehicle used by 
the licensee to transport upon public highways unprocessed agricultural products.  If the licensee operates more than one 
vehicle to transport unprocessed agricultural products on public highways, he shall apply to the director for license plates 
for each such additional vehicle.  Such license plates are not transferable to any other person and may be used only on the 
licensee’s vehicle or vehicles.  The display of such license plates on the vehicle or vehicles of a person whose license has 
been revoked or cancelled, or the failure to surrender such license plates forthwith to the department after such revocation 
or cancellation shall be deemed a violation of this act.

Where more than one semi-trailer is used with a tractor, additional plates should be secured and attached.
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